top of page

Featured Short Story of the Month - "The Other Brother"

From upstairs, I heard a voice in the kitchen. For the first time, I decide to spy on my son as he spoke to his imaginary friend. I quietly snuck on all fours and peaked around the corner to listen in on the conversation. After five minutes of listening to my son talk to himself about toy cars, I grew weary and began to think about more important things. I should get my headlights fixed. Maybe I’ll find some time to stop by the shop tomorrow morning and I can… I didn’t realize how silent the room had fallen. I look at my son, his back facing me. He’s no longer talking. Slowly, he turns around and looks at me. He swivels around in his chair to face the empty chair across from him. “Oh don’t worry, that’s just my mom.” All color from my face drained away. I looked at him in disbelief. How did he know? He wouldn’t of been able to see me with his back turned.

I erase the bewildered look on my face and round up the courage to ask. “Honey, who are you talking to?”

“Just my friend, Lucy,” he replied.

“Well, can I talk to Lucy for a bit?”

As the last word left my mouth, the empty chair faintly moved back.

“No. She’s gone now.”

bottom of page